The National Diversity Coalition is an official 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. In 2017 the NDC's delegation to Washington D.C. met with Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin, Comptroller of the Currency Tom Curry, Chair of the FDIC Martin Gruenberg, Federal Reserve Board Governor Lael Brainard, FHFA Director Mel Watt, and legislators Congresswomen Michelle Lujan Grisham, Maxine Waters, and Judy Chu. Other meetings included the senior staff of the House and Senate Committees on banking and finance, as well as the senior staff of Senator Elizabeth Warren, Congressman John Lewis, and FCC Chair Ajit Pai.